Supporting girls softball in the communities of Dover, Somersworth, and Rollinsford, NH and Berwick, So. Berwick, N. Berwick, and Eliot ME.

My my My my

Dover Recreation is proud to sponsor a series of awards to recognize those who support youth recreation programs through volunteerism and generous sponsorships. One special award, which will be presented to one person from each youth league or organization each year, is called the Don Heyliger Award. This is given in memory of past Dover Recreation Director, Don Heyliger, who served the community with great commitment and dedication for 10 years and who died suddenly in 1988. Some of the characteristics that we feel an appropriate recipient should possess are those that Mr. Heyliger himself portrayed. These include: treating all participants with the same respect and support regardless of their skill level, allow all children to participate in every event, use praise to motivate, never belittle or embarrass anyone, help a child develop confidence and self-respect, be compassionate and forgiving in relationships, look out for the less fortunate, disadvantaged and those who may need more personal and emotional support, and be fun to be with.


      DOVER YOUTH SOFTBALL - Heyliger Awards Recipients

          1995       Richard Scherf         1996       Dennis LaPanne

        1997       Susan Lucius           1998       Mike McDonnell

        1999       Lisa Dudley             2000       Judy Brown

        2001       Tim Dudley             2002       Eliot & Robin Wilkins

        2003       Jean Guerrera          2004       Bruce Miller

        2005       Wayne Coolidge      2006       Gary Johns

        2007       Paul Bolduc             2008       Bruce Thorner

        2009       Kevin Mello            2010       Jim Deyo & Mike Vining

        2011       Tom Leighton          2012       Chris Nash

        2013       Kevin Sprague        2014       Joe Champagne

        2015       Jamie Stevens         2016       Nancy Weik

                                                                     & Sponsor of the Year - River Bend

        2017       Aaron Frigon           2018      Jamie Stevens